Ben Hogan Award

Semifinalists announced for 2023 Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank

FORT WORTH, Texas (April 17, 2023) – The Ben Hogan Award committee, Friends of Golf (FOG) and Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) are pleased to present the 10 semifinalists for the 2023 Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank.
The 10 contenders, listed in alphabetical order, are Ludvig Aberg of Texas Tech, Texas A&M’s Sam Bennett, Adrien Dumont de Chassart of Illinois, North Carolina’s David Ford, Nick Gabrelcik of North Florida, North Carolina’s Austin Greaser, Christo Lamprecht of Georgia Tech, Pepperdine’s William Mouw, Gordon Sargent of Vanderbilt and Stanford’s Michael Thorbjornsen.
The Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank annually awards the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer based on all collegiate, amateur and professional events over the previous 12 months. Three of the top 10 players in the Official World Golf Ranking—Masters champion and World No. 1 Jon Rahm (2015, 2016), No. 4 Patrick Cantlay (2012) and No. 9 Viktor Hovland (2019)—are past recipients of the honor.
Five seniors, three juniors and two sophomores comprise the list of semifinalists. Aberg was the 2022 Ben Hogan Award recipient, while Bennett was a Finalist for the award last year. Aberg (2021, 2022), Bennett (2021, 2022), Gabrelcik (2021), Mouw (2020) and Thorbjornsen (2022) have previously been recognized as semifinalists.
The Atlantic Coast Conference leads the way with three semifinalist honorees, while the Southeastern Conference (2) is the only other league with multiple honorees. Three of the universities represented by semifinalists—Pepperdine, Stanford and Texas Tech—are home to past Hogan Award winners at Colonial.
On Thursday, May 4, the 10 semifinalists will be pared down to three Finalists. The Finalists will attend a black-tie dinner Monday, May 22, at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, where the winner will be crowned. The winner will receive an exemption into the PGA TOUR’s 2024 Charles Schwab Challenge, played annually at Colonial.
The award’s selection committee, which votes during each stage of the process, is made up of nearly three dozen leaders and experts in professional, amateur and collegiate golf both domestically and internationally. In addition, past recipients will be eligible to vote on the final ballot.
The Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank began honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer at Colonial Country Club in 2002. Prior to its move to Fort Worth, the original Ben Hogan Trophy, which utilized a different set of criteria for its winner, was issued at Bel-Air Country Club in Los Angeles beginning in 1990.
Hogan Award winners at Colonial have combined to accumulate 78 worldwide victories, including 57 PGA TOUR wins, and have amassed more than $390 million in prize money on the PGA TOUR and DP World Tour. Additionally, the group has appeared in 12 Ryder Cups, a dozen Presidents Cups and won two FedExCup championships.
In addition to Aberg, Cantlay, Hovland and Rahm, past recipients include: Ricky Barnes (2003), Matt Every (2006), Rickie Fowler (2008), Doug Ghim (2018), Bill Haas (2004), Chris Kirk (2007), Hunter Mahan (2003), Maverick McNealy (2017), Ryan Moore (2005), John Pak (2021), Patrick Rodgers (2014), Kyle Stanley (2009), Nick Taylor (2010), Sahith Theegala (2020), D.J. Trahan (2002), Peter Uihlein (2011) and Chris Williams (2013).
Since 2002, the Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank has distributed over $900,000 in scholarships and donations to more than 30 universities and charities. For more information, visit and follow @BenHoganAward on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.
2023 Ben Hogan Award Semifinalists
Ludvig Aberg, Texas Tech, Sr., Eslov, Sweden
Sam Bennett, Texas A&M, Sr., Madisonville, Texas
Adrien Dumont de Chassart, Illinois, Sr., Villers la Ville, Belgium
David Ford, North Carolina, So., Peachtree Corners, Ga.
Nick Gabrelcik, North Florida, Jr., Trinity, Fla.
Austin Greaser, North Carolina, Sr., Vandalia, Ohio
Christo Lamprecht, Georgia Tech, Jr., George, Western Cape, South Africa
William Mouw, Pepperdine, Sr., Chino, Calif.
Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt, So., Birmingham, Ala.
Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford, Jr., Wellesley, Mass.